New Website is Almost Ready

The new website is almost finished, or finished enough to go live. While I'm sure there's a few minor issues or oddities to clean up, the bulk of the work is done. Now comes the tedious and lengthy job of trying to import old blog posts from multiple systems and locations. Plenty of links and advanced features to work on as well. In short, this might take a while; so ordering more coffee (in bulk) seems like a very good idea.

The new site utilizes the Netlify CMS and the Eleventy static site generator. Yes, it would be significantly easier to run another WordPress site. However, I'm tired of that and want to try something different. The implosion of my favourite shared host (A Small Orange) definitely provided some fuel to this fire as well. This new setup doesn’t need a shared host in the typical sense, as it relies on GitHub Pages as the host.

Succeed or fail, it’s worth a shot. So sit back, relax and laugh at me if you must. I do.